How To Create a WordPress Blog or Website

Learn to blog, build niche websites and make money!

Learn to blog, build niche websites and make money!

Blogging is fun.  Period.  Even if you don’t like to write.  Who doesn’t like to find appealing pics online and then spend a few minutes virtual-doodling out their thoughts for all to see?  It definitely satisfies the voyeuristic bits of my nature.  It also works for the parts that like to remain hidden, because truth is, you can’t actually see me.  Score!  I’m simultaneously exposed and completely protected, web-style.  Tee-hee, tee-hee.

More seriously, I do think there is one big reason some people don’t like blogging and/or creating their own websites: a lack of knowledge, which evokes fear and self-doubt.  Boo!  In order to get started and enjoy all the joys of blogging and web design, you have to learn some stuff.  Tedious, but necessary.  Once you know the basics, you can just play.  And that’s really all blogging is: play-time.  Like “bring something to share day” in preschool.  It’s your time to put whatever you want on display.

Problem: how do ya get started if it all looks like a foreign web-language, codes and intimidating jargon?  You find the right educational tools.  I started with whatever I could get for free.  First, I explored Blogger, which I found very user friendly.  Then, I progressed into the world of WordPress.  Yay!  I love blogging via WordPress.  I find it easier to create more professional looking blogs with WordPress than Blogger.  However, they’re both good.

Once I settled on WordPress as my primary blogging home, I realized I’d want more tools to make it easier.  I want my blogging to constantly get better and more professional looking.  But I don’t want to constantly struggle to figure it out all by myself.

When I first started blogging, I found myself figuring out a couple of things on my own and then hitting a wall when I realized I didn’t know how to do other things.  I’d google themes and templates and then realize I didn’t know how to import them.  I’d find a widget I liked, and then realize I didn’t know how to maximize its’ potential.

I finally bit the bullet and decided to make an investment in my WordPress education.  When making this type of purchase, I look for recommendations from others who have already used the product, service or ebook.  And I’m not talking about testimonials on the sales page.  I don’t think those are reliable enough.  What I found was Potpie Girl’s site on developing niche websites as an affiliate marketer.  She writes on one of her own blogs that WordPress Goldmine is absolutely necessary if you don’t already know how to use WordPress.  It’s an added bonus that WordPress Goldmine also focuses on how to make your blog profitable.  If you’re doing something fun, there’s no reason you shouldn’t make some money at the same time, right?!

So blog away.  Become a WordPress master.  Use your skills to make money.  Just remember rule #1: Don’t spend more than you actually have on your educational tools.  Unlike some, I dont’ advocate using credit you can’t pay back within a few months.  But if you’ve got a little money (and it’s really not that much) check out WordPress Goldmine!

Happy blogging, ya’all!

2 Responses to “How To Create a WordPress Blog or Website”

  1. Zack Says:

    Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

  2. selfemployedbliss Says:

    Thanks so much! I’ve got a couple of other blogs that I’ve been working on, but I should be making some new posts on this one soon. Stay tuned, and feel free to leave comments anytime!

Leave a comment